Records to look out for: Teasers for January 27

Welcome to our weekly round up of some of the records that have been announced recently that we’re extremely excited for!

Half Me – Soma

Credit: Lisa-Marie Tanck

Half Me will release debut album Soma on February 17 through Arising Empire.

The band said: “We’re proudly announcing our debut LP SOMASOMA tells a twisted story about paranoid schizophrenia and the symptoms that come along with it. Conceptually starting with ‘Wraith’ as the trigger and ending in acceptance with ‘Half Me’, it follows a straight path of mental decay. The inner dialogue alters throughout the album and each song is an excursion into the depths of the human mind and its perception.”

Distant – Heritage

Credit: Luca Roman

Distant will release new album Heritage on February 10 through Century Media Records.

Gideon – More Power, More Pain

Credit: Ana Massard

Gideon will release new record More Power, More Pain on March 17 through Rude Records/Equal Vision Records.


1. Hell for a Man
2. Locked Out of Heaven
3. Push It Back
4. Too Much Is Never Enough
6. Take Off
7. Damned If I Do (Damned If I Don’t)
8. If You Love Me, Let Me Go
9. Off the Rails
10. The Final Nail
11. Midnight Blue
12. I Will Carry You
13. Back 2 Basics
14. Let ‘Er Fly

Dream State – Untethered

Dream State will release new EP Untethered on February 3. It is the first record with the band’s new line up.

Aled Evans, guitarist and founding member of the band said: The luxury of doing an EP is that it’s a much quicker process to release new music when compared to doing an album. Whilst there inevitably will be an album down the line, for now we just want to get as much new music out there as possible, without fans having to wait for as long as they already have. An EP also gives us a bit more freedom to experiment with new sounds and direction that we haven’t tried before. Whilst we’ve played around with electronic elements on the album Primrose Path, those were subtle whilst on this EP they have become a much more prominent feature and feel like a natural progression and evolution from previous songs.”

Pop Evil – Skeletons

Credit; Nick Fancher

Pop Evil will release new record Skeletons on March 17 through MNRK Heavy.

Leigh Kakaty said: This is about us as a band stripping everything down to the bones. It’s more up-tempo, it’s got bigger riffs, and we’re trying to capture the energy of our live show.

“But it’s also a positive message, I know it’s a morbid visual, but behind every skeleton, there’s a story and something worth talking about. Overall, it’s about looking at something in a positive way. And I’m excited for everyone to hear that.”


1. Arrival
2. Paranoid (Crash & Burn)
3. Circles
4. Eye of The Storm
5. Sound of Glory
6. Skeletons
7. Worth It
8. Who Will We Become
9. Wrong Direction (Feat Devour the Day)
10. Dead Reckoning (Feat Fit For A King)
11. Raging Bull (Feat Zillion)

Punk Rock Factory – It’s Just A Stage We’re Going Through

Punk Rock Factory will release new album It’s Just A Stage We’re Going Through on March 31.

The band said: “Our new album is a punk rock homage to stage and screen and in our opinion, our best work to date. We found out before that Disney has a devoted cult following and fans of musicals are no different. We knew we had to push the boat out and step up our game. Because who doesn’t love a musical?”

“The album’s first single ‘Rewrite The Stars’ (from the movie ‘The Greatest Showman’) also inspired the album’s cover art. In the music video for it, we accelerated the aging process with some awesome special effects makeup and also brought in our good friend Sean Smith of The Blackout to play a cinema usher! The video depicts that no matter how old we get, we’ll still be best mates pissing around… And Sean Smith will always have questionable hair!”


  1. Rewrite The Stars (The Greatest Showman)
  2. You’ll Be Back (Hamilton)
  3. Waving Through A Window (ft. Jeff Stinco – Simple Plan) (Dear Evan Hansen)
  4. December, 1963 (Oh What A Night!) (Jersey Boys)
  5. Defying Gravity (Wicked)
  6. I Dreamed A Dream (Les Miserables)
  7. City Of Stars (La La Land)
  8. Mamma Mia (Mamma Mia)
  9. Shallow (A Star Is Born)
  10. You’re The One That I Want (Grease)
  11. I Will Follow Him (Sister Act)

Shell Beach – Solar Flare

Shell Beach will release debut album Solar Flare on February 17 through Wild Thing Records.

Zoltán Bodóczy said:“The album lyrics basically deal with a difficult period in my life and I practically processed my confusion in them. Everything’s here: breakup, depression, starting again, failure, standing up, new love, unfinished business. From this cavalcade, I was able to highlight some ideas and these served as the basis of the lyrics. We tried to arrange the order of the tracks in such a way that a process emerges from the album as a whole.”


01 Dismembering Games
02 Absolution
03 Hero
04 Love Craft – House of Death
05 Interlude
06 Feeble Glory
07 Miracle Misdemeanor
08 Black Hole’s My Horizon
09 Hydra
10 My Devil and More
11 Agitation Divine
12 Olyan Szépek Voltunk

Zulu – A New Tomorrow

Zulu will release new record A New Tomorrow on March 3 through Flatspot Records.


1. Africa
2. For Sista Humphrey
3. Our Day Is Now
4. Music To Driveby
5. Where I’m From (Ft. Pierce Jordan & Obioma Ugonna)
6. Fakin’ Tha Funk (You Get Did)
7. Shine Eternally
8. Must I Only Share My Pain
9. Lyfe Az A Shorty Shun B So Ruff
10. From Tha Gods To Earth
11. Créme De Cassis By Aleisia Miller & Precious Tucker
12. We’re More Than This
13. 52 Fatal Strikes (Ft. Paris Roberts)
14. Divine Intervention
15. Who Jah Bless No One Curse

Elizabeth Birt

January 27, 2023

Band management assistant. Goth princess and lover of all things music and sport.


View all author posts