Records to look out for – Jan 10

Here is our weekly roundup of the new records that have been recently announced that we think you’ll love!

Heaven Shall Burn – Of Truth and Sacrifice

28.10.19: Metalcore-Band Heaven Shall Burn in Saalfeld. Foto: Candy Welz

Heaven Shall Burn’s new album Of Truth and Sacrifice is set for a March release.

Maik Weichert (guitars) says: “We decided that one album wasn’t good enough, but we wanted to create a double album as a statement. Our goal was a total work of art that people could dive into, something that leaves a lot of room for surprises and experiments. It was only fair to give our fans twice as much after letting them wait for so long.”

Conceptually the album is split into two halves: “of truth” and “of sacrifice”. Maik Weichert: “The title is exploring the idea of truth and the question what kind of sacrifices you are willing to make for it. Something reflected in the artwork: A warrioress is shielding her child with her own body. While the mother is representing the willingness to sacrifice the child is standing for truth.” The original artwork courtesy of Eliran Kantor (Testament, Iced Earth, Sodom) is a triptych showing the mother as a child and her son as a grown up. “It’s a title that refers to numerous current developments: people’s blindness in daily life and the unwillingness to make any sacrifices in order to bring about change. Still, there are many people in this world who do exactly this: teachers in Africa risking their lives in order to be able to educate children, journalists and whistleblowers who are putting their own safety at risk in order to flag things going wrong.”

The track listing reads as follows:


1. March Of Retribution
2. Thoughts And Prayers
3. Eradicate
4. Protector
5. Übermacht
6. My Heart And The Ocean
7. Expatriate
8. What War Means
9. Terminate The Unconcern
10. The Ashes Of My Enemies


1. Children Of A Lesser God
2. La Résistance
3. The Sorrows Of Victory
4. Stateless
5. Tirpitz
6. Truther
7. Critical Mass
8. Eagles Among Vultures
9. Weakness Leaving My Heart

Bones UK – Unplugged EP

Bones UK‘s new EP Unplugged EP will be out on January 24.

Unplugged EP Tracklisting:

1. Beautiful Is Boring
2. Pretty Waste
3. Black Blood
4. Filthy Freaks
5. Souls

Beach Slang – The Deadbeat Bang of Heartbreak City

Beach Slang‘s new album The Deadbeat Bang of Heartbreak City is out today!


Spanish Love Songs – Brave Faces Everyone

Brave Faces Everyone is the new album from Spanish Love Songs and will be released on February 7.

Speaking on their third album, vocalist/guitarist Dylan Slocum said: “This album is us honing in on what we think makes our band resonate with people — namely, the feeling that you’re not alone.

“These are songs about looking outward and finding that, for all our differences, most of us are just trying to get by as the world is going to hell around us. We don’t have any grand ambitions beyond that — we just want people to feel acknowledged.

“There’s comfort in knowing we’re on the same sinking ship. We want the album to be a knowing nod and a way to make the world a slightly more bearable, even if it’s just for 40 minutes.”

Brave Faces Everyone Tracklisting:
01. Routine Pain
02. Self – Destruction
03. Generation Loss
04. Kick
05. Beach Front Property
06. Losers
07. Optimism
08. Losers 2
09. Dolores
10. Brave Faces, Everyone

Bandaid Brigade – I’m Separate

Bandaid Brigade‘s debut album I’m Separate will be released on January 21.

Bandaid Brigade are made up of Pears‘ Zach Quinn, Brian Wahlstrom of Scorpios and God Of Mount OlympusThe Gamits‘ Chris Fogal and Paul Rucker of Armchair Martian, Street Dogs and Drag The River.

The band said: “It’s quite possible that this is the best album ever made. We hope you like it as much as we think you think we think we do.”

Speaking on the influence behind the record, Quinn said: “The thing that I kept thinking about the whole time was how much it reminded me a lot of a post-first-album The Clash.

“But then, I also thought to myself, ‘This is also way easier to listen to than Sandinista! ever was.’ We had the advantage of being able to look retrospectively over decades of rock and pop, and we were kind of able to pull from all of that—all the good stuff, and leave all the bad stuff out.

“You know, one band that kept coming up as we were making the record is Genesis, but Genesis songs are sometimes eight minutes long. We were like, ‘Well, that’s not necessary. We don’t need to do that.’ I feel like there were elements of that, all different examples of that.”

Dream Nails – Dream Nails

Dream Nails‘ self-titled debut album will be released on April 3 through Alcopop! Records!

The album confronts society’s social injustices and is an empowering rally cry.

‘Dream Nails’ track listing:
1. Affirmations (Skit)
2. Jillian
3. Do You Want To Go To Work (Skit)
4. Corporate Realness
5. Text Me Back (Chirpse Degree Burns)
6. Women And Non-Binary People To The Front (Skit)
7. Vagina Police
8. DIY
9. People Are Like Cities
10. Swimming Pool
11. This Is The Summer
12. Fighting Tips (Skit)
13. Payback
14. Kiss My Fist

Silverstein – A Beautiful Place To Drown

Credit: Wyatt Clough

Silverstein‘s latest album A Beautiful Place To Drown will be released on March 6 through UNFD. Their ninth record comes amid the band’s 20th anniversary celebrations!

A Beautiful Place To Drown
1. Bad Habits (ft. Intervals)
2. Burn It Down (ft. Caleb Shomo)
3. Where Are You
4. Infinite (ft. Aaron Gillespie)
5. Shape Shift
6. All On Me
7. Madness (ft. Princess Nokia)
8. Say Yes
9. Stop
10. September 14th
11. Coming Down
12. Take What You Give (ft. Pierre Bouvier)

The Amity Affliction – Everyone Loves You… When You Leave Them

Australian emotional metaclorers The Amity Affliction have revealed their new album details!

Everyone Loves You… When You Leave Them is set for release on February 21. It will be the band’s first album on Pure Noise Records.

The record goes heavier than previous album Misery. The band said: “This album is a result of our re-found love for heavy music.

“We wanted to make a heavier album to back up our most recent releases to let our fans know that we understand what the majority want to hear from us. We have experimented creatively over the years and are now able to apply what we’ve learnt to what we consider the perfect blend of Amity new and old.”


1. “Coffin”

2. “All My Friends Are Dead”

3. “Soak Me in Bleach”

4. “All I Do Is Sink”

5. “Baltimore Rain”

6. “Aloneliness”

7. “Forever”

8. “Just Like Me”

9. “Born To Lose”

10. “Fever Dream”

11. “Catatonia”

Elizabeth Birt

January 10, 2020

Band management assistant. Goth princess and lover of all things music and sport.


View all author posts