Record Roundup: New album teasers for May 3

Welcome to this week’s Record Roundup, where we highlight some of the recently announced records we think you’ll love!

In this week’s Records Roundup, we bring you teasers for 10 of the recently announced albums and EPs from across the alternative music world.

Rising Insane – Wildfires

Credit: Jana Kuhs x Coregraphy

German metalcorers Rising Insane will release new album Wildfires on August 23 through Long Branch Records.

Vocalist Aaron Steineker said: “Over the last two years, I have felt that there is a huge source of strife lurking around every corner. All we have to do is pick up our cell phone and we’re immediately thrown into a hate-filled sea of conflict, there’s so much hate everywhere.

“You get the feeling that the world around us is on fire when you add war, global warming, inflation and depression to the mix. That’s how this album got the title Wildfires. Each song on the album is about a specific trouble spot, themes and stories that have weighed on me while writing. Our goal is to create awareness through our music of how much we burden ourselves and each other instead of focusing on things that connect us and create positivity.


1 Reign
2 Monster
3 Lighthouse
4 Malicious
5 Bet On Me
6 Warning
7 Counting Regrets (Interlude)
8 Carousel
9 Burn
10 The Door
11 Wildfires

Slow Joy – Mi Amigo Slow Joy

Slow Joy will release new EP Mi Amigo Slow Joy on June 7 through Mick Music.

Wild Spelks – A House Full of Strangers

Credit: Blind Jonny

Wild Spelks will release debut EP A House Full of Strangers on June 21.

“I’m lucky enough to have a spare room in my flat in Newcastle, which my wife has lovingly let me turn into a delicately balanced sh*t-heap of guitars and speakers,” says Jonathan Sabiston of the recording sessions for the record.

“It’s in there where I write and record 90% of any Wild Spelks record. The rest is almost always in the hands of Newcastle producer and engineer Chris McManus (Du Blonde, Pit Pony) where he takes his place on the desk, we discuss snare sounds for hours over coffee, and then generally use the first take of any drums we record and go home. Thank you Chris.”


1. They’re Gonna Get You
2. Help Myself
3. Happy And Healthy
4. Take It From A Friend
5. Getting The Band Back Together Again

Rendezvous Point – Dream Chaser

Credit: Jonathan Vivaas Kise

Rendezvous Point will release album Dream Chaser on June 21 through Long Branch Records.


1 Don’t Look Up 
2 Oslo Syndrome
3 Utopia
4 Fireflies
5 Presence
6 Wildflower
7 The Tormented
8 Still Water

Evergrey – Theories of Emptiness

Credit: Patric Ullaeus

Evergrey will release new record Theories of Emptiness on June 7 through Napalm Records.

“For us, progression is paramount”, states Tom S. Englund of the album.

“We’re dedicated to ensuring that our music remains innovative and avoids stagnation. With each album, we strive to introduce something new — a unique flavor, a different key or chord, fresh voices in our writing, or innovative production techniques.


1. Falling From the Sun
2. Misfortune
3. To Become Someone Else
4. Say
5. Ghost of My Hero
6. We Are the North
7. One Heart
8. The Night Within
9. Cold Dreams
10. Our Way Through Silence
11. A Theory of Emptiness

My Diligence – Death.Horses.Black.

Credit: Bert Gysemans

My Diligence will release album Death.Horses.Black. on May 31 through Listenable Records.


1. Death
2. Horses
3. Black
4. Auspicious
5. Interlude (The Bridle and the Bit)
6. Allodiplogaster Sudhausi
7. Lucid Alley
8. Sacred Anchor
*Bonus Track

Moskito – G.R.I.M

Credit: Steven Haddock

Moskito will release their G.R.I.M deluxe EP on May 10.

The EP is an expansion on the band’s 2023 G.R.I.M and will feature original tracks and live recordings performed at Safe Haven Studio.


1. Killing Joke

2. Loser

3. Bottom Feeder

4. Clinomania

5. Thrill Seeker

6. Charming Boy

7. Killing Joke – Live at Safe Haven Studios

8. Loser – Live at Safe Haven Studios

9. Bottom Feeder – Live at Safe Haven Studios

10. Clinomania – Live at Safe Haven Studios

11. Thrill Seeker – Live at Safe Haven Studios

Richard Henshall – Mu Vol. 1

Credit: Anne-Marie Forker

Richard Henshall will release his debut solo EP Mu Vol. 1 on June 7.

The Haken guitarist said: “I got the initial rhythmic idea for Mu on a flight home from a Haken tour just before the lockdown kicked off in the UK. Little did I know that it’d end up being the catalyst for a trilogy of jazz-tinged, instrumental EPs.

“The rhythmic powerhouse, Lang Zhao, is on the drums and his highly creative playing style has really elevated these arrangements to new levels. This new collection of songs has a strong focus on rhythm and explores some new ground for me as a writer and guitar player. I can’t to share what I’ve cooked up with everyone.”


1. Yang
2. Granular
3. Land Aliens
4. Mu

Cobra The Impaler – Karma Collision

Credit: Germaux Visuals

Cobra The Impaler will release new album Karma Collision on May 31 through Listenable Records.


1. Magnetic Hex
2. Godless Beyonder
3. Season of the Savage
4. Eye of the Storm
5. Karma Collision
6. My Inferno
7. The Fountain
8. The Message
9. Assassins of the Vision
10. Shifting Sands

Wage War – Stigma

Wage War will release new album Stigma on June 21 through Fearless Records!



Elizabeth Birt

May 3, 2024

Band management assistant. Goth princess and lover of all things music and sport.


View all author posts