New records to look out for – March 12

Here is our weekly roundup of some of the newly announced records from across the alternative music world.

The Hirsch Effekt – Gregær

The Hirsch Effekt will release their orchestral EP Gregær on March 26 through Long Branch Records. The German prog rockers will be joined by 17 orchestral musicians on the EP.


1 Natans – orchestral version
2 Domstol – orchestral version
3 Kollaps – orchestral version
4 Gregær – orchestral version

Play Dead – Skint

London teenagers Play Dead will release debut EP Skint on March 26 through Blitzcat Records.

Born out of pre-pandemic bedroom boredom, Play Dead are three teenagers from Herne Hill with sharp tongues and an appetite for noise influenced by The Chats, Slaves, IDLES, The Streets, Shame, and Sleaford Mods.


1. Hide
2. Skint
3. Shaun
4. Brockwell Park
5. The Drip

Our Hollow Our Home – Burn in the Flood

The new album from Our Hollow Our Home is called Burn in the Flood and will be released on May 28 through //Hollow Music.

“We are beyond proud to announce our third full-length album, ‘Burn In The Flood’.

Whilst there is an overarching theme of being caught or trapped within your own emotions, on this record – rather than delving into a deep constructive narrative – we wanted to focus on letting each song have its own time in the spotlight, and have each tell its own story. Every time we start writing, we push ourselves harder than ever before, and all truly believe this is our strongest collection of songs to date. 

The last year has been tough for everyone, but through all the hardships thrown at us, especially as touring musicians, we dug deep and ended up finding some of the rawest, most open & honest material we’ve ever written. This album was made entirely for our fans.  They are a huge inspiration to us and this record has been brought to life by our literal blood, sweat and tears during a time where we honestly didn’t know if the world would even allow us to carry on doing what we love so dearly!

It’s a project which documents our personal growth and the genuine struggles faced in our daily lives, and we wear our hearts on our sleeves from beginning to end.” 



1: Burn In The Flood

2: Failsafe

3: In Retrospect

4: Monarch

5: Better Daze

6: Nerv Feat. Oli Duncanson

7: Overcast

8: Remember Me Feat. Ryo Kinoshita

9: Children Of Manus Feat. Lochie Keogh

10: Blood

11: Seven Years (Shine A Light On Me)

Bound in Fear – Eternal

Bound in Fear will release new EP Eternal on March 26 through Unique Leader Records.

Vocalist Ben Mason said: “BOUND IN FEAR to me has always been self-explanatory – it’s about things that we go through in life that define us as people. The Eternal EP touches on memories that manifest into nightmares, substance abuse, childhood trauma and everything in between that we don’t talk about because we feel ashamed.

“In our music we always try to give an honest experience to show people that they are not alone, but to also help them understand that being angry, sad, upset and confused is okay – not everyone can see what happens behind closed doors. The things that we experience may be Eternal, but they can also be beaten.”

1. Cardinal Sin
2. Left To Drown
3. My Mind, My Prison
4. Everblack
5. The Harrowing

Chapel – Room Service

Chapel will release their new EP Room Service on April 23 through Rise Record.

Havelocke – Arsonist

The new Havelocke EP is called Arsonist and will be released on April 13 through Silent Cult Records.

Myles Kennedy – Ides of March

Credit: Chuck Brueckmann

Myles Kennedy will release his latest solo effort Ides of March on May 14 through Napalm Records.

1) Get Along
2) A Thousand Words
3) In Stride
4) The Ides Of March
5) Wake Me When It’s Over
6) Love Rain Down
7) Tell It Like It Is
8) Moonshot
9) Wanderlust Begins
10) Sifting Through The Fire
11) Worried Mind

Death Blooms – Fuck Everything EP

Death Blooms are saying Fuck Everything with their new EP on March 17 through Adventure Cat Records.

Frontman Paul Burrow said: “This EP seems like the right amount of spit and bile to sum up everyone’s current frustrations in musical form at this present moment.”

1. Life Is Pain
2. Gore
3. Anger
4. Fuelled By Hate
5. Fuck Everything

Gojira – Fortitude

Gojira will release their new album Fortitude on April 30 through Roadrunner Records.

1.  “Born For One Thing”
2.  “Amazonia”
3.  “Another World”
4.  “Hold On”
5.  “New Found”
6.  “Fortitude”
7.  “The Chant”
8.  “Sphinx”
9.  “Into The Storm”
10. “The Trails”
11. “Grind”


Press to MECO – Transmute

The new album from Press to MECO is called Transmute and will be released on June 11 through Marshall Records.

Vocalist Lewis Williams said:  “It questions whether we can make a significant change for the better, in ourselves, in our relationships and as a society. Positive change can sometimes feel like you’re trying to find a way to turn lead into gold.” 

Track list:

Another Day
Smouldering Sticks
A Test Of Our Resolve
Baby Steps
Rusty Nails
Way To Know

Vexed – Culling Culture

Credit: Andy Ford

Vexed will release their debut album Culling Culture on May 21 through Napalm Records.


01. Ignorant
02. Hideous
03. Fake
04. Epiphany
05. Misery
06. Narcissist
07. Weaponise
08. Purity
09. Drift
10. Aurora
11. Lazarus

The Offspring – Let the Bad Times Roll

The Offspring are back with their first new music in almost a decade! They will release new album Let the Bad Times Roll on April 16 through Concord Records.

Dexter Holland said: “I feel like we’re in a unique period in history where instead of our world leaders saying ‘we’re doing our best’ it’s more like they’re saying ‘fuck it’ and its really scary.”  

Noodles added: “Folks are saying, if it’s all going to Hell, we might as well make the most out of it, or at least go out swinging. ‘Let The Bad Times Roll!’”


This Is Not Utopia

Let The Bad Times Roll

Behind Your Walls

Army of One

Breaking These Bones

Coming For You

We Never Have Sex Anymore

In The Hall of the Mountain King

The Opioid Diaries

Hassan Chop

Gone Away


Waterparks – Greatest Hits

Waterparks will release their new album Greatest Hits on May 21 through 300 Entertainment.


Elizabeth Birt

March 12, 2021

Band management assistant. Goth princess and lover of all things music and sport.


View all author posts