New records to look out for – Jan 17

Here is our weekly round up of some of the records announced across the past week that we think you’ll love!

Four Year Strong – Brain Pain

Four Year Strong‘s fifth full-length album Brain Pain will be released on February 28 through Pure Noise Records.

It’s their first album since their 2015 self-titled release and fans have been eagerly awaiting it (and so have we).

The band said:  “We didn’t want to set a strict deadline for this album because we wanted to be sure we took the time to write the best songs possible. In the past our writing and recording was so dependent on getting something out in time to go on tour; this time we really had the opportunity to take our time and work through these ideas.”

Brain Pain Track Listing

1. It’s Cool

2. Get Out Of My Head

3. Crazy Pills

4. Talking Myself In Circles

5. Learn To Love The Lie

6. Brain Pain

7. Mouth Full Of Dirt

8. Seventeen

9. Be Good When I’m Gone

10. The Worst Part About Me

11. Usefully Useless

12. Young at Heart

Creeper – Sex, Death & The Infinite Void

Creeper‘s second album Sex, Death & The Infinite Void will be released on May 22 through Roadrunner Records.

The album comes after a hiatus that left the Creeper Cult devastated.

Frontman Will Gould said:

“The real-life time travel that music can achieve is almost supernatural. In a moment you can be transported from a bedroom in the south of England to another dimension entirely. With our latest album, we attempted to perform a similar magic.

 The concept behind the artwork came to me when I was considering the ways I first discovered music. Both Ian Miles and I have similar stories of discovering our parents’ records. Holding in our hands these battered relics of the past, playing them for the first time and experiencing the magic of them coming to life over the speaker.

 This being the case, our album cover attempts to live up to that promise. It would fit in with our parents’ records of the past, you could find it in a dusty attic, blow off the cobwebs, play it at any moment in time and be transported.”

Bury Tomorrow – Cannibal

Bury Tomorrow‘s latest record Cannibal will be released on April 3 through Music For Nations / Sony Music!

It’s their sixth album and follows the hugely successful 2018 record Black Flame.

The album features some of frontman Dani Wynter-Bates’ most personal and brutal lyrics to date as he delves deep into his own experiences. He said: “This album is for me as well as for the fans.

“It was a cathartic process to address some of the darkest moments I’ve had in my life. For some people it’ll be a hard listen. But I thought I have to do this, if I’m going to go in, I’m going to go in. I’m not doing something half arsed. There is nothing lyrically I would change on this entire album.”

1) Choke
2) Cannibal
3) The Grey (VIXI)
4) Imposter
5) Better Below
6) The Agonist
7) Quake
8) Gods & Machines
9) Voice & Truth
10) Cold Sleep
11) Dark Infinite


PENGSHUi‘s self-titled debut album will be released on February 21 through MVKA.

MC Illaman said: “This album is forged from a love of heavy music, heavy basslines and heavy energy. 

We came together to do this because all 3 of us have missed and wanted to create and perform songs like this for a long time. 12 tracks that we feel, are bangers, that have that banger energy and make people want to go nuts and skank out.

All our influences and vibes thrown into a big pot, stirred with a big spoon and thrown into a bowl. Get stuck in as we’re just getting started. Please enjoy loudly.”

The full tracklist is as follows:


1: Wickedest One

2: Nobody Cares

3: i (interlude)

4: Blame

5: Wiseman Ft. Footsie

6: ii (interlude)

7: Leave It

8: Lights Out ft. Orifice Vulgatron

9: iii (interlude)

10: No Joke

11: Rise

12: iv (interlude) 

Imonolith – State of Being

Canadian all-star metallers Imonolith will release their debut album State Of Being on March 27 through Imonolith Music.

The band features: drummer Ryan ‘RVP’ Van Poederooyen(Devin Townsend Project), guitarist Brian ‘Beav’ Wadell(Devin Townsend Project), Jon Howard(Threat Signal),  guitarist Kai Huppunen (Methods of Mayhem, Noise Therapy) and Scott Whalen(Econoline Crush)

Drummer RVP said: “We spent a lot of time making this record. We wanted it to be done the way we envisioned it. We didn’t cut any corners, from the song writing right up to the album production and artwork. It’s a debut album that we’re very proud of and excited for the world to hear.”

State of Being track-listing:

1. State of Being (intro)
2. Becoming The Enemy (feat. Johannes Eckerstrom)
3. Instinct
4. Dig
5. The Mourning
6. Forgone
7. Breathe
8. The Reign (feat. Jens Kidman)
9. We Never Forget
10. Hollow
11. Persevere

Code Orange – Underneath

Code Orange are back to delight fans with a new record! Underneath will be released on March 13 on Roadrunner Records.

Jami Morgan said: “UNDERNEATH is about facing the duality in ourselves as individuals and as a society in an overcrowded, overexposed, all-consuming digital nirvana. Everyone has a voice and no one’s seems to matter… plummet down the rabbit hole of your deepest fears, anxieties, and regrets to confront the monster that has been building underneath.


Track listing:
1.     (deeperthanbefore)
2.     Swallowing the Rabbit Whole
3.     In Fear
4.     You and You Alone
5.     Who I Am
6.     Cold.Metal.Place
7.     Sulfur Surrounding
8.     The Easy Way
9.     Erasure Scan
10.  Last Ones Left
11.  Autumn and Carbine
12.  Back Inside the Glass
13.  A Sliver
14.  Underneath

Elizabeth Birt

January 17, 2020

Band management assistant. Goth princess and lover of all things music and sport.


View all author posts