New records to look out for: December 22 edition

Welcome to our weekly round up of some of the recently announced albums and EPs that we’re most excited for!

Ghost Atlas – Dust on the Human Shape

Credit: Bryan Kirk

Ghost Atlas will release new album Dust on the Human Shape on January 26 through UNFD.


1) Void Voyeur

2) Panorama Daydream

3) Lesser Gods

4) Gaps In The Armoire

5) Seeker (Stretch The Night)

6) Riding The Blindside

7) Tomato Red

8) Polyphonic Mind

9) Bedsheet Tourniquet

10) Dust Of The Human Shape

11) In The House Of Leaves

12) Death Confetti

Bruce Dickinson – The Mandrake Project

Credit: John McMurtie

Bruce Dickinson will release new album The Mandrake Project on March 1.


Afterglow Of Ragnarok (05.45)
Many Doors To Hell (04.48)
Rain On The Graves (05.05)
Resurrection Men (06.24)
Fingers In The Wounds (03.39)
Eternity Has Failed (06.59)
Mistress Of Mercy (05.08)
Face In The Mirror (04.08)
Shadow Of The Gods (07.02)
Sonata (Immortal Beloved) (09.51)

Carpark – Born to be Average

Credit: Cinsy Tam

Carpark will release new EP Born to be Average in February!

The band said: Born To Be Average introduces the new era of Carpark with heavy rock and even some dance elements, but we also have a ballad that pays homage to earlier Carpark, and a song that is so undeniably inspired by the pop/punk influences we grew up on. It’s been a really fun process and we can’t wait for everybody to hear all 5 songs in February.”

Shooting Daggers – Love and Rage

Shooting Daggers will release debut album Love and Rage on February 16 through New Heavy Sounds.

The band said: “We want to spread a positive message, we are challenging rage into a good force, seeking for justice and unity. Anger serves us as a bodyguard for our personal pain and suffering. But when you recognise rage within you, if you handle it with attention, love, and compassion, it can be a powerful mobilizing factor to take action in solidarity and commitment to enacting social change.

“This is a time to focus on ourselves and our community. Protect our rights to be in this world and stop caring about men’s validations. It’s time for women and queer people to channel all our power together.

”In this album we touch subjects such as Unity, sorority, self love, taking the power back, queer love and skateboarding.

“When we started writing this album we decided we didn’t want to limit ourselves by any genre. We wanted to be able to get influenced by any band that we were fond of at the moment, that’s why each of the tracks of this album are so different from one another, which is something we’ve always committed to do while at the same time trying to keep it very ours. 

”We have hardcore songs inspired by Ceremony, Axe Rash, Turnstile, G.L.O.S.S. and then we have some more melodic hardcore inspired by Title Fight, Touché Amoré, Gouge Away, some post punk and shoegaze inspired by Placebo and Slowdive to showcase more of Sal’s clean vocals. A bit of 90s nu metal sprinkled in one of the tracks too. Then we have a piano track because why not. 

“We just went with the flow and let our creativity run free.”

Royal Tusk – Alltruistic

Credit: Kidpixel and Travis Nesbitt

Royal Tusk will release new album Alltruistic on February 23 through MNRK Heavy.


01. Fire In Your Veins    
02. Hated
03. Head Up
04. Relegate
05. All My Life
06. The Death Of Common Sense
07. Here On Out
08. Altruistic
09. Breathe
10. Something Like The Truth

Same Side – Oh No

Credit: Will Levy

Same Side will release new album Oh No on February 2 on Pure Noise Records.

Kevin said:

“Thematically, there tends to be some sort of playful dread with my lyrics,” he says. “You sort of feel like, ‘Oh no, here we go again.’ But ultimately, you can’t just sit around and wait for things to get better. You have to get over it and move on with life.”

He continued: “Whether that makes for better art or not is really irrelevant,” he says matter-of-factly about his songwriting approach. “It feels good to have a space where I can do what I want. It’s not meant to be the pinnacle of how good a song can be. Instead, it’s about making a song my own – having an outlet that feels less about the outcome and more about the process.”


On & On & On
What You’re Missing
Killing Time
Oh No
Part Of It

Banks Arcade – Death2

Banks Arcade will release new EP Death2 on February 2 through UNFD.

“DEATH 2 expresses the darkest side of Banks Arcade,” the band reveal of their forthcoming new EP. “It’s the heaviest this band will ever venture and it explores the most chaotic elements from the different genres we enjoy. With each song exploring death and disorder in a different way it paints a visceral picture that is symbolic of change and the shedding of the bands previous self.”


1) Worship The Internet

2) Sentimental

3) Roulette

4) More Want

5) Killing Games

6) Change

Dwarrowdelf – The Fallen Leaves

Dwarrowdelf will release new album The Fallen Leaves on February

Tom said: “Representing a new beginning for the Dwarrowdelf project, ‘The Fallen Leaves’ displays lyrical themes of sorrow, struggle, and grappling with reality. Taking further inspiration from the diverse blend of influences that drove 2021’s Cold Lie the Ashes yet cohesively retaining the trademark Dwarrowdelf sense of scale and atmosphere, this album truly sounds like nothing else.”


1) “Within The Ashes, The Ember Still Burns”
2) “The Journey To Dawn”
3) “To Dust, We All Return”
4) “This Shattered World”
5) “Escape From The Dreamspire”
6) “Deliverance”
7) “The Fallen Leaves”


Elizabeth Birt

December 22, 2023

Band management assistant. Goth princess and lover of all things music and sport.


View all author posts