New Records to look out for: April 14 teasers

Welcome to our weekly round up of some of the new records we’re excited for!

Gallus – We Don’t Like the People We’ve Become

Aodhan Gallagher

Gallus will release album We Don’t Like the People We’ve Become on June 9 through Marshall Records.

“The album’s title is from Sickness and Health, which best sums up the album’s mood and theme;” comments guitarist and backing vocalist Eamon Ewins. “it’s a coming-of-age tale, but with quite a pessimistic spin. Everything gets worse, you get older, then you’re dead… It’s not all doom and self-pity though” Ewins jests. “We wanted the album to be a cathartic, self-deprecating and uplifting journey, and we hope that we’ve achieved just that. Hopefully we’ve learned how to crack a smile by album 2.”


01 Moderation
02 Fruitflies
03 Eye to Eye
04 Basic Instinct
05 Missiles
06 What Do I Know
07 Marmalade
08 Going Numb
09 Are You Finished
10 Mr. Nothing
11 Penicillin
12 Sickness and Health

Veil Of Maya – [M]other

Credit: Paige Margulies

Veil Of Maya will release new album [M]other on May 12 through Sumerian Records.

Lukas Magyar said: “This record is a collection of personal experience, history and a touch of my own imagination. I enjoyed approaching each song in a different way this time around. It was certainly challenging at times to find the right mood but when the work was finally complete it seemed to come together very well. I’m thrilled to see how our fans respond!”


1. Tokyo Chainsaw
2. Artificial Dose
3. Godhead
4. [re]connect
5. Red Fur
6. Disco Kill Party
7. Mother Pt. 4
8. Synthwave Vegan
9. Lost Creator
10. Death Runner

Hot Mulligan – Why Would I Watch?

Hot Mulligan will release new record Why Would I Watch? on May 12 through Wax Bodega.


Shouldn’t Have a Leg Hole But I Do
It’s a Family Movie She Hates Her Dad
And I Smoke
This Song is Called it’s Called What’s it Called
No Shoes in the Coffee Shop (Or Socks)
Christ Alive My Toe Dammit Hurts
Cock Party 2 (Better Than The First)
Shhhh! Golf is On
Gans Media Retro Games
Smahccked My Head Awf
John “The Rock” Cena, Can You Smell What the Undertaker

Therapy? – Hard Cold Fire

Credit: Tom Hoad

Therapy? will release new album Hard Cold Fire on May 5 through Marshall Records.

“One thing we did decide when we were eventually able to rehearse, was that we didn’t want to make a lockdown record,” says vocalist and guitarist Andy Cairns, “because people have been through enough.

“When we began to rehearse the songs, we realised there was an empathetic quality to them. We wanted to make something that was a bit more relatable, and less standoffish and claustrophobic – which we have a history of, and it stands in places – but we wanted to make something more approachable and open.”

“We wanted this album to be one that felt good to play live, almost a release after this period of stasis, but then also not dwelling on the whole situation – we’re moving forward, and we wanted that energy to be there,” adds bassist Michael McKeegan.

1. They Shoot the Terrible Master
2. Woe
3. Joy
4. Bewildered Herd
5. Two Wounded Animals
6. To Disappear
7. Mongrel
8. Poundland of Hope and Glory
9. Ugly
10. Days Kollaps

Cyan Kicks – I Never Said 4ever

Credit: Mojandre

Cyan Kicks will release new album I Never Said 4Ever on May 5 through Ranka Kustannus.

1. i should stop acting cool
2. I Never Said 4ever
3. Hurricane
4. Addicted
5. Can’t Get You Out Of My Bed
6. lostboi
7. Back Ashore
8. See The Light
9. Invincible
10. Into You
11. Unbearable
12. Someone Like You
13. When You’re Gone

The Acacia Strain – Failure Will Follow

The Acacia Strain will release new album Failure Will Follow on May 12 through Rise Records.
It is released the same day as Step into the Light, the album announced earlier this year.

failure will follow TRACK LISTING:
pillar of salt (feat. Dylan walker + iRiS.exe)
bog walker
basin of vows (feat. ethan mccarthy)STEP INTO THE LIGHT TRACK LISTING:

Heart Attack Man – Freak of Nature

Heart Attack Man will release new album Freak of Nature on May 26.
The overarching theme is growing up,” says Eric. “I spent my entire twenties just feeling completely out of place. It was like I hadn’t found my people yet. In early adulthood, I went through a lot of shit mentally. With Freak Of Nature, I’m embracing the fact I don’t know what the hell I’m doing, but it’s okay.


1. Practiced In the Mirror
2. Freak Of Nature
3. Like A Kennedy
4. Late To The Orgy
5. Stick Up
6. God Called Off Today
7. C4
8. 9 On Your Bedside
9. Clown School
10. See You On The Other Side

Glass Casket – self-titled

Credit: Wes Richardson

Glads Casket will release their self-titled EP on June 9 through Silent Pendulum Records.
It is the band’s first new record in 17 years!
Vocalist Adam Cody muses on how the material has evolved since the old days: “The lyrics on this release are the completion of a circle for me. I’ve waited a long time to release another album with Glass Casket. Our first two albums were full of despair and heartache. The lyrics on this release are full of drive and determination. They focus on dealing with mental illness and overcoming obstacles one day at a time. It also deals with letting go of past tragedies. The ongoing fight we all deal with on a daily basis. No one is above it.”


1. Merrymaker
2. Let Them Go
3. Prison of Empathy
4. For the Living

The Amity Affliction – Not Without My Ghosts

The Amity Affliction will release new album Not Without My Ghosts on May 12 through Pure Noise Records.
Show Me Your God
“It’s Hell Down Here”
“Fade Away”
“Death And The Setting Sun” (Feat. Andrew Neufeld)
I See Dead People” (Feat. Louie Knuxx)
“When It Rains It Pours” (Feat. Landon Tewers)
“The Big Sleep”
“Close To Me”
“God Voice”
“Not Without My Ghosts” (Feat. Phem)

Elizabeth Birt

April 14, 2023

Band management assistant. Goth princess and lover of all things music and sport.


View all author posts