New records – November 27

Here is a roundup of some of the records we’re most excited for in the coming months!

Deftones – White Pony/Black Stallion remix album

Credit: Tamar Levine

Deftones will release a number of remixes of their seminal White Pony album under the title Black Stallion. The record will be released on December 11 through Reprise/Warner Records.

Some of the people involved in remixing tracks from the 2000 album include: Robert Smith of The Cure, DJ Shadow, and Mike Shinoda of Linkin Park alongside genre-bending heavyweights: dark-pop favorites Phantogram, electronic experimentalist Squarepusher, beatsmith Clams Casino, renowned record producer Salva and noise artist Blanck Mass.


  1. Feiticeira (Clams Casino remix)
  2. Digital Bath (DJ Shadow remix)
  3. Elite (Blanck Mass remix)
  4. Rx Queen (Salva remix)
  5. Street Carp (Phantogram remix)
  6. Teenager (Robert Smith remix)
  7. Knife Prty (Purity Ring remix)
  8. Korea (Trevor Jackson remix)
  9. Passenger (Mike Shinoda remix)
  10. Change (In the House of Flies) (Tourist remix)
  11. Pink Maggit (Squarepusher remix)

Heave Blood and Die – Post People

Heave Blood and Die will release their new album Post People on February 5 through Fysisk Format.

The group’s early memories and close affinity to nature have informed their worldview – a staunchly environmentalist, progressive outlook which runs deeply throughout Post People. We are standing on the verge of a junction with two options: ruin, or the chance of redemption. The band said: “The have had is more dangerous than the never had. A new dawn is rising, and the possible outcome is terrifying”. 

1: Radio Silence
2: Kawanishi Aeroplane
3: Metropolitan Jam
4: True Believer
5: Everything Is Now
6: Continental Drifting
7: Geometrical Shapes
8: Post People

ĠENN – Liminal

ĠENN will release their new EP Liminal on March 30 through Everything Sucks Music.

Humanity’s Last Breath – Välde

Humanity’s Last Breath will release their record Välde on February 12 through Unique Leader.

Track listing:

1. Dödsdans
2. Glutton
3. Earthless
4. Descent
5. Spectre
6. Dehumanize
7. Hadean
8. Tide
9. Väldet
10. Sirens
11. Futility
12. Vittring

Landmvrks – Lost in the Waves

Credit: Alexis Fontaine

Landmvrks will release new record Lost in the Waves on February 26 through Arising Empire.

As Everything Unfolds – Within Each Lies The Other

As Everything Unfolds will release their debut album Within Each Lies the Other on March 26 through Long Branch Records.

“This album represents the very best and worst of ourselves; our anger, sadness, vengeance and happiness,” says vocalist Charlie Rolfe. “We can’t always be the best versions of ourselves and sometimes you need to travel through the hard parts for the happiness to exist in the end. Life is a road of regrets and accomplishments, you need to embrace every aspect of it for creating the person you are now.”

Frank Iero and the Future Violents – Heaven is a Place, This is a Place

Frank Iero and the Future Violents will release new EP Heaven is a Place, This is a Place on January 21 through UNFD.

Side A reveals the true meaning of “Violence”, a song title Iero has teased on bass drums in all his Future Violents music videos. Indeed, it’s opening gambit of “You got so sick, I thought I’d die, you got so down, I couldn’t get high” before the chorus refrain of “Your violence feels like kisses to me, your silence makes it harder to breathe, your distance feels like I’m not enough… I need your touch.” see’s Iero at his most scathing and damaged. Never have these words felt more relevant as they do now. This ferocity and redemptive anger continues into “Sewer Wolf “ where in the chorus Iero professes, “I come alive forged in fire, My love will break these chains built from pain, they can’t hold me down.”

Track Listing

Sewer Wolf
Losing My Religion
Record Ender

Drones – Our Hell is Right There

Drones will release their new album Our Hell is Right There on February 12 through Lockjaw Records.

“It’s been a pretty rough ride for the past couple of years,” says vocalist Lois McDougall when looking back on the journey the  band have been on to get to this point. “But I struggle with claiming my problems and sadness as valid because they are disproportionate to the danger and loss that many face every day. It got to the point where I was almost ashamed to write songs about my own life. However, I’m learning that personal care and self-worth is not something to be diminished. There are songs on this album that I had to write for my own therapy. Whilst writing this record, I went through a divorce, lost a family member and was battling with my own mental health. At the same time, it felt like the world was falling apart. ‘Our Hell Is Right Here’ is the product of my experiences over the past few months. There’s a lot of sadness on this record, but I can now look back and celebrate who I have become in spite of it all.” 

The album was produced by the band’s very own Tim Kramer at Signal House Studios in St Albans. “It’s been a pretty turbulent recording process,” Tim reflects, echoing Lois’ experiences leading up to the album’s completion. “We finished writing the record in January, but it’s been an usually long process due to all the twists and turns that 2020 has thrown at us! We’ve been spread apart all over the country, but there’s also been a national lockdown and we lost a guitarist at the tail-end of the process. So the different stages of recording were drawn out across the year, with Lois visiting to finish her parts around five months after the drums and guitars were recorded. There were never more than two of us in a room at any given stage of making this album but it doesn’t feel disjointed at all – in fact, in the face of adversity, it’s our fullest sounding record yet. That being said, I do hope we don’t have to produce the next album via Zoom again!”

The Pretty Reckless – Death By Rock and Roll

The fourth The Pretty Reckless album will be released on February 12 through Century Media Records. It is called Death by Rock and Roll.


  1. Death By Rock And Roll
    2. Only Love Can Save Me Now (featuring Matt Cameron and Kim Thayil)
    3. And So It Went (featuring Tom Morello)
    4. 25
    5. My Bones
    6. Got So High
    7. Broomsticks
    8. Witches Burn
    9. Standing At The Wall
    10. Turning Gold
    11. Rock And Roll Heaven
    12. Harley Darling

Elizabeth Birt

November 27, 2020

Band management assistant. Goth princess and lover of all things music and sport.


View all author posts