New records – 5th July 2019

Every week we’re given lots of new records to look forward to. Here are some of the most promising that were announced in the past week.

Ivy Crown – Echo

Danish metallers Ivy Crown will be releasing their debut album in October. A set release date has yet to be announced for Echo but we do have a month!

Ivy Crown are a melodic metalcore quartet hailing from the cold streets of Copenhagen, Denmark. Captivating vocals, detailed compositions and heavy riffs make up the band’s formula which is impressively showcased on Echo. These girls are geared up to take on the world, and make some necks hurt.

ROAM – Smile Wide

Roam have announced details of their third album! Smile Wide is set for release on September 6 through Hopeless Records.

The title of ‘Smile Wide’ refers to a lyric in the song ‘Red & Blue’. As vocalist Alex Costello explains, “When everything’s falling down around you and you’re facing the worst situations, smile wide. It’s like ‘smile wide, here it comes, life’s about to happen again.’”

That’s what it’s all about. Staying positive and stepping up to the plate, even in the face of adversity. “The album as a whole is about feeling overlooked and out of control,” says Alex Adam.“It’s about feeling like a puppet in someone else’s game, and they’re making decisions you don’t agree with, it’s about taking that control back and not letting people walk all over you anymore. 

On a larger scale, as citizens of the earth, we’re in a place where we’re being lead by people who don’t have a fucking clue, and who are fucking up huge decisions that affect everyone, on a daily basis. We need to not just take it but stand up for what we believe in.

Be unapologetically you.”

‘Smile Wide’ Tracklisting:

1. Better In Than Out

2. I Don’t Think I Live There Anymore


4. Play Dumb

5. Fire On The Ceiling

6. Piranha

7. Red & Blue

8. Hand Grenade

9. Toy Box

10. Turn

Grayscale – Nella Vita

Grayscale‘s new album Nella Vita is set for release through Fearless Records on November 6.

The album is an eclectic mix of 90s rock, funk, modern hip-hop and R&B.

Vocalist Collin Walsh said: “It’s really personal,. The music provokes a lot of visuals, because it’s very conversational, real, and romantic. I suppose that’s just how I write.

“The songs capture the spectrum of emotions that you experience in life and real experiences like love, sex, being a teenager, addiction, pain, joy, grief, death, and everything. Life isn’t just one thing; neither is music. We’re a rock band, but we want people to dance, laugh, cry, and have fun.”

‘Nella Vita’ Tracklisting:
1. Just Right
2. Baby Blue
3. In Violet
5. Twilight (My Heaven)
6. Old Friends
7. Painkiller Weather
8. What’s On Your Mind
9. Asbury
10. Desert Queen
11. In My Arms
12. Tommy’s Song


Elizabeth Birt

July 5, 2019

Band management assistant. Goth princess and lover of all things music and sport.


View all author posts