Gilmore Trail New Album Release ‘The Floating World’ – 18th May 2015

Sheffield based post rock quartet Gilmore Trail are pleased to announce that their new album ‘The Floating World’ will be released on 18th May by Chasmata Records

“Sweeping, impossibly grand instrumental statements; soundscapes that aim to capture the awe, the sheer beauty of nature…reminiscent of Mogwai at their most intense, Explosions In The Sky at their most grandiose.” – Clash Mag

“Sheffield post-rockers influenced by King Crimson, Pink Floyd and Mogwai” – PROG Magazine

Sheffield based post rock quartet Gilmore Trail are pleased to announce that their new album ‘The Floating World’ will be released on 18th May by Chasmata Records, with an album launch show at Sheffield Corporation on Saturday 16th May. The album can be pre-ordered and tickets for the release show bought from the band’s online shop at

To celebrate the news of the album, a new video for ‘Memories of Redfern’ is below:

Directed by Fourth City Films, the atmospheric monochrome visuals provide the perfect accompaniment to the sombre majesty of Gilmore Trail’s epic instrumental post-rock, which resonates with an organic, awe-inspiring power. As with much of the material found on ‘The Floating World’, nature and (more specifically) the coastline, are recurring themes which drive these carefully orchestrated compositions as the band speculate on humanity’s place in the natural world and the future of our environment and natural habitat.

Named after a wilderness trail in remote Alaska recommended for best experiencing the Northern Lights and with a heady mix of influences including Sigur Rós, Explosions in The Sky, King Crimson, God is an Astronaut, This Will Destroy You, Pink Floyd, Intronaut and Buckethead, this band are a serious new proposition for any instrumental fans. Support slots with Losers, Nordic Giants and China Drum, as well as headline performances at the 2014 leg of Tramlines Festival sets them in good stead for 2015, alongside early support from BBC Introducing, Clash Magazine and PROG magazine.

‘The Floating World’ track list:

1. Memories of Redfern
2. Waveless Shore
3. Ballard Down
4. Shallows
5. Floating World
6. Shifting Sands
7. Origins
8. Dusk

Album release show:

Saturday 16th May – Corporation, Sheffield

Gilmore Trail are:

Sam Ainger – Drums
Dave Ivall – Guitar
Danny Mills – Guitar
Joe Richards – Bass Guitar

Dean Biddlecombe

March 14, 2015

Hey, I am Dean. I am the brains behind the technical side of AltCorner and run my own Website Design company; Red-Eight. I am also enlisted as the Photographer and Videographer for AltCorner's festival coverage. I have an extremely varied music taste that ranges from System Of A Down to Tom get the idea! Oh and I also love a bit of Creed (not kidding!)

View all author posts