New records to look out for – May 8

Today is VE Day but it is also the day for our weekly roundup of new records we’re excited for!

The Pretty Reckless – Death By Rock and Roll

The Pretty Reckless will be releasing Death By Rock and Roll through Century Media Records. We will have more details soon on the fourth album but we’re excited.

“When we first heard the new album, ‘Death By Rock And Roll’, we were very excited”, said David Sonenberg, manager of The Pretty Reckless.  “We couldn’t wait to play it to record labels. We took a ton of meetings and received offers from a broad range of labels. But it quickly became apparent that Century Media was the right partner for us. They shared our passion and enthusiasm for what we believe will be a breakthrough album for The Pretty Reckless. So, here’s to our new partnership with Century Media! And long live Rock and Roll!!!”


Sleaze rock supergroup PATRÓN will release their self-titled debut album on May 29 through Klonosphere.

PATRÓN is a new project fronted by Lo (aka Patrón)frontman of the band Loading Data. The self-titled debut album was produced by Alain Johannes (Queens of the Stone Age, Eleven, Them Crooked Vultures, Chris Cornell Band) and also happens to be the last album ever recorded in his legendary studio 11AD, in Los Angeles.

A few well-known names and friends appeared on the record. These include:  Joey Castillo (Danzig, Queens of the Stone Age, The Bronx), Barrett Martin (Mad Season, Screaming Trees, Tuatara), Nick Oliveri (Kyuss, Queens of the Stone Age, Mondo Generator), Aurélien Barbolosi (Aston Villa) and Monique St Walker (Blackbird Days).


1 – Room with a view
2 – Who do you dance for ?
3 – Very bad boy
4 – Jump in the fire
5 – The Maker
6 – Hold me tight
7 – Seventeen
8 – Around my neck
9 – Leave it all behind
10 – She Devil
11 – How to land

Lamb Of God – Lamb Of God

Credit: Travis Shinn

There is a new release date for Lamb Of God‘s self-titled album. It is now set to be revealed to the world on June 19.

Here’s the band’s statement:

“Regrettably, we have to announce that the release date for our upcoming self-titled album is being moved five weeks, to June 19th. We’re in extraordinary times due to the current global reality and the delay of shipments of all-but essential goods needed in the fight against COVID-19. After talks with our labels, there is no other option than to delay the release so that fans who pre-ordered the album can receive the record they paid for.
We appreciate your patience during these times – a global pandemic is not something people in the music industry usually take into account when scheduling album releases, but as you know, this thing has affected everyone across the board, and we are no exception.
We will, however, be releasing a new song, “New Colossal Hate”, this Thursday, April 23rd and plan to release a 4th song from the album before the full album is released in June.
Thank you for your understanding.
Wash your damn hands, let us know what you think of the new tunes, and see you on the road sometime!”  – LAMB OF GOD 
1. Memento Mori
2. Checkmate
3. Gears
4. Reality Bath
5. New Colossal Hate
6. Resurrection Man
7. Poison Dream (feat. Jamey Jasta)
8. Routes (feat. Chuck Billy)
9. Bloodshot Eyes
10. On The Hook

Smiling Assassin – Plight of the Millennial

Smiling Assassin‘s debut album Plight of the Millennial is set for release on May 31.

George Garnett (vocals) explains this goal:

With this album we’re trying to put a breath of fresh air into the modern punk scene and shed light on the real issues and difficulties our generation face today…”.

Casey Stead (bass) continues:

Plight Of The Millennial is a call-to-arms for a disenchanted, disillusioned, and frustrated generation. It delivers bursts of angst and cynical social commentary in a climate where people are more than happy to reduce serious issues to the realm of memes, or witty banter, for the sake of a cheap laugh. As modern hardcore seems to be becoming more insular, POTM subverts the trend. Listening to this record is like seeing the world through the eyes of a rebellious youth, and concluding: ‘shit’s just worse than ever’.“.

01 Prologue
02 Plight Of The Millennial
03 Psycho-Apathy
04 Divide And Conquer
05 Coping
06 News Corp. Monopoly
07 National Pride
08 With All Due Respect
09 Aftermath

Creeper – Sex, Death & The Infinite Void

Creeper have moved the release date for their new album to July 31.

The band strongly believe that the launch of their new album should be an event which the fan community can share together. With production of physical formats delayed by the impact of the pandemic, the band didn’t want fans who had pre-ordered the album on vinyl or CD to miss out. They are also passionate about planning special activity around their album launches, which isn’t possible in the current situation.


Elizabeth Birt

May 8, 2020

Band management assistant. Goth princess and lover of all things music and sport.


View all author posts