New Records to look out for: May 5 edition

Welcome to our weekly round up of some of the albums and EPs that we’re looking forward to!

Vexed – Negative Energy

Credit: Andy Ford

Vexed will release album Negative Energy on June 23 through Napalm Records!

The band comment: “We are so proud to present to you our second album. Since our first release, we have each endured traumatic experiences, surrounded by death, betrayal, pain and grief. In order to find any strength, we first had to accept that we weren’t okay, then take our trauma and face it head on, sharing our vulnerability, fears and weaknesses. Instead of forcing ourselves to try and be positive we put all our negative energy into the album in order to begin our own repair and to overcome.”


2. Anti-Fetish
3. We don’t talk about it
4. X my <3 (Hope to die)
5. Panic attack
6. Lay down your flowers
7. There’s no place like home
8. Extremist
9. Default
10. Trauma Euphoria
11. It’s not the end
12. DMT
13. Nepotism

To Kill Achilles – Recovery

Credit: Jack Geddes

To Kill Achilles will release new album Recovery on August 11 through Arising Empire.

The band said: “This record is the antithesis of the last. For far too long we’ve told the story of mental degradation without hope. Becoming completely drained repeating the same lines of how it hurts to be here. Recovery deals with courage, control, acceptance, and ultimately the end goal that anyone in this circumstance seeks… the other side. This record is the journey of getting better, taking control of your life and the experiences around you.”


01. …and I’m an Addict
02. Chemical Counterpart
03. When The Lights Go Off
04. Blue
05. Living In A Memory
06. Fifteen Years
07. No Love Is A Crime
08. Rats
09. Ghost Town
10. The Cave
11. Recovery

The Hives – The Death of Randy Fitzsimmons

Credit: Bisse Bengtsson

The Hives will release new album The Death of Randy Fitzsimmons on August 11 through Fuga.

Of the new album, frontman Howlin’ Pelle Almqvist declares, “There’s no maturity or anything like that bullshit, because who the fuck wants mature rock’n’roll? That’s always where people go wrong, I feel. ‘It’s like rock’n’roll but adult,’ nobody wants that! That’s literally taking the good shit out of it. Rock’n’roll can’t grow up, it is a perpetual teenager and this album feels exactly like that, which it’s all down to our excitement – and you can’t fake that shit.


1. Bogus Operandi
2. Trapdoor Solution
3. Countdown To Shutdown
4. Rigor Mortis Radio
5. Stick Up
6. Smoke & Mirrors
7. Crash Into The Weekend
8. Two Kinds Of Trouble
9. The Way The Story Goes
10. The Bomb
11. What Did I Ever Do To You?
12. Step Out Of The Way

The Devil’s Trade – Vidékek vannak idebenn

Credit: Chantik Photography

The Devil’s Trade will release new album Vidékek vannak idebenn on July 14 through Season Of Mist.

The band said: Vidékek vannak idebenn (There’s Landscapes Within) arrived in my life at a time and space where the more than decade-long period leading up to this phase in life ended, but the following one, the homecoming was albeit visible, but hasn’t yet started. This paralyzed state of floating wasn’t enough for me to make a record, I had to switch from the well-functioning, unconscious creation to a different way and to different depths.“


1. Felkelék én
2. Flashing Through the Lack of Light [WATCH]
3. Vidékek vannak idebenn
4. Clear Like the Wind
5. Liminal
6. Fordulj kedves lovam
7. All Kings Must Fall
8. Új hajnal már nem jő

Voyager – Fearless in Love

Voyager will release new album Fearless in Love on July 14 through Season of Mist.

“Fearless In Love was written and recorded between 2020 and 2022. The writing process was very different to how we’ve done things in the past,” explains vocalist and frontman Danny Estrin. “As a result, the album is more cohesive and exciting with a cinematic feel, hailing back to gritty films of the 80’s and 90’s showcasing all the layers that make up Voyager. This album takes you on a ride through a dark city and leaves you on a more pensive, reflective note by the end.”


1.   The Best Intentions
2.   Prince Of Fire
3.   Ultraviolet
4.   Dreamer
5.   The Lamenting
6.   Submarine
7.   Promise
8.   Twisted
9.   Daydream
10. Listen
11. Gren (Fearless In Love)


Elizabeth Birt

May 5, 2023

Band management assistant. Goth princess and lover of all things music and sport.


View all author posts