New records to look out for – May 15

Here’s our weekly round up of some the records we’re excited for!

Strike Anywhere – Nightmares of the West

Punk veterans Strike Anywhere will release their new record Nightmares of the West on July 17 through Pure Noise Records.

It is their first new music in more than a decade!

We wanted to write things that we felt really fresh about and that revealed something new,” explains vocalist Thomas Barnett. “It was almost like this refresh, this restart, where we found ways to write songs that not only moved us, but also reflected the times and our ages. But we definitely feel inspired, and this record is a platform for us to hopefully – in time – play shows, connect with community, and help keep those little fires lit in ourselves and in others through the music and those shared experiences. These songs are the conversations that we want to have and the feelings that we still really need to share.”


Dress The Wounds
The Bells
Frontier Glitch
Imperium Of Waste
We Make The Road By Walking

Fall of Messiah – Senicarne

The new record from Fall of Messiah will be titled Senicarne and released through Holy Roar Records on July 31.

Senicarne is a story of human ties evolving over time, an image of roots and attachments and symbolic representations of nature. Senicarne written backward (enracinés) translates as “rooted” in French; and “seni” “carne” translates as “old flesh” in Latin.


1: La République du Vide
2: Contreforts
3: Riveloup
4: Vertes Vignes
5: Young Pines
6: Atlantique
7: Sand Mountain
8: Sequioa
9: The Loneliest Whale in the World

Katalepsy – Terra Mortuus Est

The new album from Russian metallers Katalepsy is called Terra Mortuus Est and will be released on July 31 through Unique Leader.


1. Closer Than Flesh
2. Night Of Eden
3. Those Who Rot The Souls
4. The God Of Grave
5. Terra Mortuus Est
6. Kings Of The Underground
7. Deep Down Madness
8. No Rest No Peace
9. From The Dark Past (They Come)
10. Neonomicon III
11. Land of Million Crosses

Decay – Staring at the Sun

The debut Decay album is called Staring at the Sun and will be released on July 1o through Fox Records.

They take inspiration from the likes of Basement, Title Fight and Citizen, with their own Northern twist.

Vocalist Danny Reposar said: “At the time of writing the track we were all going through a lot of troubles and setbacks within our personal lives; death, grievance and heartbreak to name a few. We wanted to write a record that ebbed and flowed in a way that our emotions were at the time of writing. The highest of highs and the lowest of lows. From being uninspired, to a major musical breakthrough, to grieving the loss of a loved one. The record is a reflection of our everyday lives in and out of the band and is something I hope a lot of people resonate with.”

1. Staring At The Sun
2. September 27th
3. Empty Feeling
4. Ache
5. Feel Better
6. Hold On
7. Misery
8. Endless Silence
9. Comfortable
10. 23

The Winter Passing – New Ways of Living

Irish indie/emos The Winter Passing will release their new album New Ways of Living on July 3 through Big Scary Monsters.

Rews – Warriors

The second album from Rews will be released on August 7 through Marshall Records.

Frontwoman Shauna said: I’m so excited for everyone to get their hands-on Warriors, a serendipitous title right now! People always warn about ‘that difficult second album’. For me, I think this new album contains some of the most honest, painful & uplifting songs that I’ve ever written, and I feel that it is a pure expression of who and what REWS is. Each song on the album is a journey through a tough situation; all different; and I want it to show people that no matter what they are going through, together, through the spirit of music, we can strengthen, we know that we belong and we CAN do this… Today, we’re warriors!”




Heart Is On Fire


Today We’re Warriors

Move On

Play Dead

Love Hate Song

Bad Girl




Elizabeth Birt

May 15, 2020

Band management assistant. Goth princess and lover of all things music and sport.


View all author posts