New records to look out for – Feb 14

A special Valentine’s Day roundup of recently announced albums we think you’ll love!

August Burns Red – Guardians

The eighth album from August Burns Red is called Guardians and will be released through Fearless Records on April 3.

Guardians is the culmination of a complete and total team effort,” says JB Brubaker, lead guitar. “Dustin and I collaborated musically more than we ever have before. Jake and Brent collaborated vocally more than they ever have before. Matt bounced more drum ideas off of us than we could even comprehend. It was the most time we’ve ever spent in the studio on one album. We’re all so proud of this record, and we can’t wait to share it with the world.”


“The Narrative”
“Dismembered Memory”
“Ties That Bind”
“Extinct by Instinct”
“Empty Heaven”
“Three Fountains”

Black Orchid Empire – Semaphore

Brit rockers Black Orchid Empire have announced their highly anticipated album Semaphore will be out on June 12 through Long Branch Records!

The album tells a sci-fi story.

Track listing: 

01 Emissaries
02 Singularity
03 Natural Selection
04 Motorcade
05 Red Waves
06 Heliopause
07 Winter Keeps Us Warm
08 Dust
09 Faces
10 Death From Above
11 Evergreen
12 Monolith
13 Crash

Julia Marcell – Skull Echo

Alt-popper Julia Marcell will release her new album Skull Echo on March 27 through Long Branch Records!

She says of the record: “Skull Echo is a story about time, perception and loneliness. About heads in which we are trapped, building our image of the world through our senses – full of uncertain information, selectively remembered and freely transformed. It is a story of longing for another person.”


1. Cerebral Bliss
2. Nostalgic
3. Infinity Halt
4. The Odds
5. Houses of Glass
6. Which Way is Now
7. Understand Me
8. Time
9. Mother
10. Life is on television
11. Skull Echo

The Alligator Wine – Demons Of The Mind

Rockers The Alligator Wine will release their new album Demons of the Mind on April 24 through Century Media Records!

Demons Of The Mind’ (42:39)

  1. Shotgun (03:55)
  2. Crocodile Inn (04:45)
  3. Voodoo (03:35)
  4. Ten Million Slaves (06:08)
  5. The Flying Carousel (04:29)
  6. Lorane (06:14)
  7. Dream Eyed Little Girl (04:32)
  8. Mamãe (03:49)
  9. Sweetheart On Fire (05:12)

The Used – Heartwork

Credit: Brian Cox

The Used will release new album Heartwork on April 24 through Big Noise/Hassle Records.

The news follows months of the quartet teasing this eighth full length.

Bert McCracken said: “The new album plays on the emotions, the sincerity, and the vulnerability of the first record and In Love and Death, with a little bit of the flair from Lies for the Liars.  Standing in the streaming circle pit with Kesha and Halsey, the album is just as modern sounding. John Feldmann’s production is THAT professional. It sounds really good! Those are two really random examples, but I think if you listen to both of those records, the songs are all over the place: dance, pop, actual punk rock riffs and drums. I think music is so all over the place right now that The Used fits in perfectly.”

Tracklisting for ‘Heartwork’


  1.     Paradise Lost, a poem by John Milton
  2.     Blow Me (feat. Jason Aalon Butler)
  3.     BIG, WANNA BE
  4.     Bloody Nose
  5.     Wow, I Hate This Song
  6.     My Cocoon
  7.     Cathedral Bell
  8.     1984 (Infinite Jest)
  9.     Gravity’s Rainbow
  10.   Clean Cut Heals
  11.     Heartwork
  12.     The Lighthouse (feat. Mark Hoppus)
  13.     Obvious Blasé (feat. Travis Barker)
  14.     The Lottery (feat. Caleb Shomo)
  15.     Darkness Bleeds, FOTF
  16.     To Feel Something

Lamb Of God – Lamb Of God

Credit: Travis Shinn

Lamb Of God have revealed their first new music in five years and it is part of their new album! -titled eighth effort will be released on May 8 through Nuclear Blast!

“Putting only our name on it is a statement,” vocalist D. Randall Blythe says. “This is LAMB OF GOD. Here and now.”

‘Lamb Of God’ tracklisting:
1. Memento Mori
2. Checkmate
3. Gears
4. Reality Bath
5. New Colossal Hate
6. Resurrection Man
7. Poison Dream (feat. Jamey Jasta)
8. Routes (feat. Chuck Billy)
9. Bloodshot Eyes
10. On The Hook

Elizabeth Birt

February 14, 2020

Band management assistant. Goth princess and lover of all things music and sport.


View all author posts