MONDAY MOTIVATION: Top new singles to get you through the week! | 19th May

Monday’s suck, right? The weekend is over and the dreaded return to work blues has firmly set in. Fear not though, as here at AltCorner, we have the perfect remedy to ease those blues with a look at some of our favourite releases from this past week! Check out some of our top picks below…

BEACHHEADS – Death of a Nation

Nothing like a bit of Norwegian power-pop to start your Monday. BEACHHEADS have revealed their new single Death of a Nation.

The track is an upbeat yet political and anti-fascist anthem. Vocalist and lyricist Børild Haughom said the song is“looking askance at the televised war”.

REMO DRIVE – Around The Sun

Minnesota rockers Remo Drive have revealed their new single Around The Sun! The track is taken from their new album Natural Everyday Degradation, set for a June 14 release.

Vocalist/guitarist Erik Paulson said: “There’s sadness in routine. Even in the happiest of situations, we’re losing valuable moments or time. All these songs [on the album] are about some sort of warped existence, but through that, I think we ultimately find we can be whatever we want to be.”

John Floreani – Oh Brother

John Floreani has revealed another taste of his forthcoming debut album. Oh Brother is the latest track to be lifted from sin (June 7, Hopeless Records).

John said: “my brother has always been a troubled person. His fight to be a better version of himself has been a long and painful losing battle that hurts everybody involved. I’ve been kind to him over the years – I was really the only person that loved and cared for him unconditionally. Recently, after a falling out, I decided to not be that person anymore.”

Faces Of Eve – Sleeper

Faces Of Eve are back with a new single Sleeper.

Guitarist Dan Sloane said: “Our new single ‘Sleeper is about losing a loved one”. This and the follow up single to come is a lot more stripped back and back to basics in terms of writing. There’s a lot more production and overall thought that has gone into these tracks.”

Alice In Chains – Rainier Fog

Rockers Alice In Chains have released their new single Rainier Fog ahead of their UK headline shows.

Drummer Sean Kinney said: “In a world where things are becoming increasingly serious, with ‘Rainier Fog’ we have continued our long tradition of making asses out of ourselves in videos. So for all of you that were raised bottle-fed, this one is for you. Mission accomplished.”  

Vocalist/guitarist Jerry Cantrell added: “We had a great time working with Peter Darley Miller again. We made AIC 23 in 2013 with him, which was amazing. We had a blast making the ‘Rainier Fog’ music video, which continues the northwest theme of the record. We hope you enjoy it and have a laugh.”

Breather – Your Body Separates

Breather have just released their third single, following their third live performance. Your Body Separates has an awesome accompanying video.

Vocalist Sam Irvine said: “Your Body Separates is about witnessing someone’s personality begin to shift and fragment. They purposefully push away the things most important to them, choosing to adopt a new version of themselves.”


Elizabeth Birt

May 20, 2019

Band management assistant. Goth princess and lover of all things music and sport.


View all author posts