End of June new record roundup

Every Friday we bring you a round up of some of the most promising records announced that week. Here we have four of the most promising announced at the end of June.

The Contortionist – Our Bones

The Contortionist will be releasing their new EP Our Bones on August 9.

Vocalist Michael Lessard said: “We try to do something different with everything we create.

“With our albums, we tend to work with overarching interconnected themes. ‘Our Bones’ is a departure. It offered an opportunity to dive into some things we haven’t had a chance to explore, and the shorter EP format allowed us to be hyper-focused on each song.”


1. Follow
2. Early Grave
3. All Grey
4. 1979

Killswitch Engage – Atonement

Killswitch Engage are back with a new record announcement! Atonement is set for release on August 16 through Music For Nations.

The record is the culmination of a tough two-year period for the band. During the middle of the recording process, vocalist Jesse Leach had to have surgery for a polyp scar tissue on his throat.

1. Unleashed
2. The Signal Fire [featuring Howard Jones]
3. Us Against The World
4. The Crownless King [featuring Chuck Billy]
5. I Am Broken Too
6. As Sure As The Sun Will Rise
7. Know Your Enemy
8. Take Control
9. Ravenous
10. I Can’t Be The Only One
11. Bite The Hand That Feeds

Korn – The Nothing

Korn will release their highly anticipated album The Nothing on September 13. The release will come through Roadrunner Records / Elektra.

Vocalist Jonathan Davis said: “Deep, within our Earth lives an extraordinary force. Very few are aware of the magnitude and significance of this place where good/evil, dark/light, bliss/torment, loss/gain and hope/despair all exist as one- pulling at us every moment of our lives.

“It’s not something we can choose to navigate, but rather an awareness of this ‘presence’ that surrounds us with every breath, as if we are being watched at every moment.  It’s the place where black and white energies attach themselves to our souls, and shape our emotion, choices, perspective and ultimately our very existence.

“There is a miraculous and small realm within this vortex and it’s the only place where balance between these dynamic and polarizing forces exists -where the soul finds its refuge. Welcome to…..THE NOTHING.”

1. The End Begins

2. Cold

3. You’ll Never Find Me

4. The Darkness is Revealing

5. Idiosyncrasy

6. The Seduction Of Indulgence

7. Finally Free

8. Can You Hear Me

9. The Ringmaster

10. Gravity Of Discomfort

11. H@rd3r

12. This Loss

13. Surrender To Failure

Betraying The Martyrs – Rapture

Betraying The Martyrs have announced details of their new album! The French metallers will be releasing Rapture through Sumerian Records on September 13.

Vocalist Aaron Matts says of the band’s fourth record: “Rapture for us is a product of each one of our experiences up until this moment; each moment lived on the road, every drop of inspiration picked up along the way.

“Written musically in the only way we know how, we took each one of our musical tastes and formed it into the ultimate album for ourselves, hoping that it will translate and fall onto the ears of the listeners the same way it falls onto ours.

“Rapture is a musical journey through each one of our minds, lyrics that come from both the darkest and lightest corners of our souls. We put everything into this one, leaving behind any preconceptions, and what came out the other side is something that we’re all so proud of, and we hope that the listener will feel it within themselves also.”

Rapture track-listing:

1- Ignite
2- Eternal Machine
3- Down
4- The Iron Gates
5- Parasite
6- The Sound of Letting You Go
7- The Swarm
8- Monster
9- Imagine
10- Incarcerated
11- Rapture

Elizabeth Birt

June 28, 2019

Band management assistant. Goth princess and lover of all things music and sport.


View all author posts